Saturday, January 17, 2009

Who Will Win the Caldecott This Year?

The announcement of the Caldecott Award (left) each year is a good opportunity to do a lesson around book illustration. Plan to do a lesson on illustration and have students look at books by the current and past winners. The winner is announced at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting (January/February), and the award is presented at the ALA summer conference. The 2009 Midwinter Meeting will be held in Denver, CO, from Jan 23–28, 2009.

The Caldecott Medal recognizes the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. It is named in honor of 19th century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott because his work best represents the "joyousness and beauty of picture books." The Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, presents the annual award.

In 2008 the Caldecott was awarded to "The Invention of Hugo Cabret" by Brian Selznick (right).

Click on the heading above to go to the ALA Caldecott site and see the list of winners since 1938.

No comments: