Monday, June 8, 2009

Designers Win Tony Awards

Sets, costumes, and lighting are some of the key areas of live theatre for designers and each year some of the best are recognized with a Tony Award. The American Theatre Wing's 63rd Annual Antoinette Perry "Tony"® Awards were held at Radio City Music Hall on Sunday, June 7, 2009 and broadcast on the CBS Television Network.

The Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards are bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement. The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television.

Winners in the design categories included:

Scenic Design by Derek McLane for 33 Variations (right).
Scenic Design for a Musical by Ian MacNeil for Billy Elliot, The Musical.
Costume design by Anthony Ward for Mary Stuart.
Costume design for a Musical by Tim Hatley for Shrek, The Musical.
Lighting Design by Brian MacDevitt for Joe Turner's Come and Gone.
Lighting Design for a Musical by Rick Fisher for Billy Elliot, The Musical.

Click on the heading above to go to

No comments: