Monday, September 21, 2009

Michelle Obama Honors National Design Award Winners at White House

The 10th Annual National Design Awards Gala will take place on October 22, 2009 when the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum will celebrate the 2009 National Design Awards with its annual Awards ceremony and dinner held at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City.

This summer, however, on July 24, 2009, Michelle Obama, the First Lady, (right) hosted a ceremony at the White House for the winners and finalists of the 2009 National Design Awards, part of the Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum. She praised the recipients for their innovative ideas, and for serving as inspiration for future generations of designers. Click on the heading above to hear Mrs. Obama's speech and hear who the award winners are.

At her request, before the White House event, the public was invited to 5 Smithsonian sites in Washington, D.C. to meet some of the award winners and be part of the celebration. Events for students and the general public were held at the Corcoran Gallery of Art, National Building Museum, the National Museum of the American-Indian, the Hirschorn Museum, and the Smithsonian "Castle".

The National Design Awards were conceived by the Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum to honor the best in American design. First launched at the White House in 2000 as an official project of the White House Millennium Council, the annual Awards program celebrates design in various disciplines as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world, and seeks to increase national awareness of design by educating the public and promoting excellence, innovation, and lasting achievement. The Awards are truly national in scope–nominations for the 2009 Awards were solicited from a committee of more than 800 leading designers, educators, journalists, cultural figures, and corporate leaders from every state in the nation.

The National Design Awards is one of the few programs of its kind structured to continue to benefit the nation long after the Awards ceremony and gala. A suite of educational programs will be held in conjunction with the Awards by Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum’s award-winning Education Department, including a series of public programs, lectures, roundtables, and workshops based on the vision and work of the National Design Award winners.

National Design Awards are given in the following categories:
Lifetime Achievement
Design Mind
Corporate and Institutional Achievement
Design Patron
Architecture Design
Communication Design
Fashion Design
Interaction Design
Interior Design
Landscape Design
Product Design

No comments: