Friday, December 4, 2009

Architects Announce 2010 Gold Medal Winner

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) will give their 2010 AIA Gold Medal to Peter Bohlin, FAIA (right) at the 2010 AIA National Convention in Miami.

The annual AIA Gold Medal is the profession’s highest honor that an individual can receive. It honors an individual whose significant body of work has had a lasting influence on the theory and practice of architecture.

Bohlin has designed rural houses, nature centers and urban buildings featuring a contextual use of materials communicating that buildings are part of the landscape (not just placed in a landscape) and should enhance the experience of nature.

Examples of Bohlin’s work includes:

• The Ledge House, a retreat in the Blue Ridge Mountains
• The William J. Nealon Federal Building and US Courthouse in Scranton, Pa.
• The 5th Ave. Apple Store in New York City (left)
• The Pocono Environmental Education Center in Dingmans Ferry, Pa.
• Seattle City Hall

Bohlin and his 200-person practice, has offices in Wilkes-Barre, Pa., Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, Seattle and San Francisco. Their projects have earned 14 national AIA Awards. Bohlin is the 66th AIA Gold Medalist. He joins the ranks of such visionaries as Thomas Jefferson (1993), Frank Lloyd Wright (1949), Louis Sullivan (1944), LeCorbusier (1961), Louis Kahn (1971), I.M. Pei (1979), Frank Gehry (1999), and Renzo Piano (2008).

1 comment:

viagra online said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.