Saturday, February 27, 2010

Costume Designers Guild Presents Awards

On Feb. 25, the Costume Designers Guild held its 12th Annual Awards to honor the outstanding film and television costume designs of 2009. The event precedes the March 7 Academy Awards, when costume designers will again be honored for their work in recent films.

At the star-studded Costume Designers Guild Awards Gala, held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, designers were recognized by their peers for their talents and contributions to costume design. Celebrities in film and television like Nicole Kidman, Alan Cummings, Nancy Sinatra, Loni Anderson and Rob Marshall turned out for the event.

Awards were given across all categories of film and television costume design. In addition, the Costume Designers Guild honored actress Emily Blunt with the Swarovski Award and Kidman presented director Rob Marshall with the Distinguished Collaborator Award. Costume designers including Sandy Powell, Robert Turturice, and Michael Travis were honored for their career achievements in costume design.

Costume Designers Guild Award 12th Annual Awards Winners are:

Excellence in Contemporary Film: Doug Hall – “Crazy Heart” (left)
Excellence in Period Film: Sandy Powell – “The Young Victoria”
Excellence in Fantasy Film: Monique Prudhomme – “The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus”
Outstanding Made for Television Movie or Miniseries: Catherine Marie Thomas – “Grey Gardens”
Outstanding Contemporary Television Series: Lou Eyrich – “Glee” (right)
Excellence in Commercial Costume Design: Casey Storm - “Milkquarious”

Click on the heading above to go to the Costume Designers Guild website and learn more about the nominees and winners.

No comments: