Sunday, May 29, 2011

12th Annual National Design Awards Announced

The Smithsonian's Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum has announced the winners of the 12th Annual National Design Awards. The award recipients will be honored at a gala dinner Thursday, Oct. 20, at Pier Sixty in New York during National Design Week.

Cooper-Hewitt’s sixth annual National Design Week will be held Oct. 15–23. Educational programming surrounding the 2011 National Design Awards includes the Educator Open House, the Teen Design Fair in New York and the Teen Design Fair in Washington, D.C., sponsored in part by Target.

The National Design Awards were launched at the White House in 2000 as a project of the White House Millennium Council to promote excellence and innovation in design. The awards are accompanied each year by a variety of public education programs, including special events, panel discussions and workshops. First Lady Michelle Obama serves as the Honorary Patron for this year’s National Design Awards.

The 2011 National Design Award recipients are:

Lifetime Achievement: Matthew Carter (right)
During the past 50 years, Carter has designed some of the most recognizable typefaces used today. He is a principal of Carter & Cone Type Inc., a foundry that designs and produces original typefaces for the retail font market and for clients, including The New York Times, Boston Globe, Yale University and Microsoft, for which Carter designed the screen fonts Verdana and Georgia. Named a MacArthur Fellow for 2010, he teaches type design at the Yale University School of Art.

Design Mind: Steven Heller (left)
The Design Mind Award recognizes visionary individuals or firms that have affected a shift in design thinking or practice through writing, research and scholarship. Steven Heller is the author and editor of more than 130 books on graphic design, satiric art and popular culture.

Corporate and Institutional Achievement: Knoll
Knoll was founded in 1938 by Hans Knoll on the conviction that good design enriches lives.

Architecture Design: Architecture Research Office
Architecture Research Office, a New York-based firm has work that spans from strategic planning to architecture and urban design.

Communication Design: Rick Valicenti
Rick Valicenti’s founded Thirst, a Chicago-based design collaborative devoted to art, function and real human presence.

Fashion Design: J. Mendel
J. Mendel is a fifth-generation luxury brand established on the principles of high quality, style and craftsmanship was inducted into the Council of Fashion Designers of America in 2003.

Interaction Design: Ben Fry
Ben Fry is principal of Fathom Information Design in Boston that develops software, printed works, installations and books that depict and explain topics from the human genome to baseball salaries to the evolution of text documents.

Interior Design: Shelton, Mindel & Associates
Shelton, Mindel & Associates is a leader in architectural, interior and product solutions for corporate, cultural, academic, retail, recreational, hospitality and residential clients which includes the design of the Polo/Ralph Lauren headquarters.

Landscape Architecture: Gustafson Guthrie Nichol
Gustafson Guthrie Nichol, a Seattle-based landscape-architecture practice, projects include the Lurie Garden in Chicago, the Robert and Arlene Kogod Courtyard at the Smithsonian’s Reynolds Center for American Art and Portraiture, which houses the Smithsonian’s National Portrait Gallery and the Smithsonian American Art Museum in Washington, D.C., and the new Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Campus in Seattle.

Product Design: Continuum
Continuum is a global design and innovation consultancy that has created such innovative and successful products as the Pump line of athletic shoes for Reebok and the Swiffer line of floor-cleaning products for Procter & Gamble. Its medical innovations include the Insulet OmniPod insulin delivery system and the Nala Patient Recovery Chair and Compass Patient Room System for Herman Miller.

The 2011 National Design Awards Jury included:
•Andrew Blauvelt, Walker Art Center
•June Cohen, TED Media
•Jamie Drake, Drake Design Associates
•Terry Guen, Terry Guen Design Associates Inc.
•David Kusuma, Tupperware Brands Corporation
•Jennifer Morla, Morla Design
•Lela Rose, Lela Rose
•Billie Tsien, Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects
•Patrick Whitney, Institute of Design, Illinois Institute of Technology

Click on the heading above for more details.

No comments: